Prevention of Orthopaedic Implant Infection in Patients Undergoing Dental Procedures


Guideline Work Group:
William Watters III, MD, Co-Chair, American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS)
Michael P. Rethman, DDS, MS, Co-Chair, American Dental Association (ADA)
Richard P. Evans, MD, AAOS
Calin Moucha, MD, AAOS
Richard J. O'Donnell, MD, AAOS
Paul A. Anderson, MD, AAOS & Congress of Neurological Surgeons
Elliot Abt, DDS, ADA
Harry C. Futrell, DMD, ADA
Stephen O. Glenn, DDS, ADA
John Hellstein DDS, MS, ADA
David Kolessar, MD, AAHKS
John E. O'Toole, MD, American Association of Neurological Surgeons/Congress of Neurological Surgeons
Mark J. Steinberg, DDS, MD, American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
Karen C. Carroll, MD, FCAP, College of American Pathologist
Kevin Garvin, MD, The Knee Society
Douglas R. Osmon, MD, Musculoskeletal Infection Society
Anthony Rinella, MD, Scoliosis Research Society

Angela Hewlett, MD, MS, Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America

AAOS Guidelines and Technology Oversight Committee:
Michael J. Goldberg, MD, Chair

AAOS Staff:
Deborah S. Cummins, PhD,
Director, Research and Scientific Affairs
Sharon Song, PhD, Manager, Clinical Practice Guidelines
Patrick Sluka, MPH, Former Lead Research Analyst
Kevin Boyer, MPH, Former Appropriate Use Criteria Unit Manager, Former Interim Clinical Practice Guidelines Manager
Anne Woznica, MLIS, Medical Research Librarian
William R. Martin III, MD, Medical Director

ADA Staff:
Helen Ristic, PhD,
Director, Scientific Information
Nicholas B. Hanson, MPH, Lead Research Analyst